Some Limericks

Chris Smith ( aap03102@gmail.com ) sends me his weekly Newsletter.  It’s really for staff and pupils at his school, but it always contains a few jokes and puzzles and he’s happy to distribute it more widely.

 

This week’s issue contains some limericks, and I enjoyed this one:

There was a young man from Lahore
Whose limericks stopped at line four.
When asked why this was,
He responded, “Because”

 

I decided we really ought not to stop there, so I offered Chris four more, of which I think the last one, at least, deserves to be better known:

An inventive person from Dundee
Wrote limericks to end at line three
“That’s all I have to say, you see”

There was a young man from Peru
Whose limericks stopped at line two

There was a young girl from Verdun

And, finally, the piece de resistance:

.

Chris then challenged me to produce a limerick for negative one. I couldn’t manage that, but I did offer him two more:

My friend Metcalfe

and:

Porter

.

Further contributions welcome.

Footnote: I came across this limerick for pi.  I couldn’t decide whether it fits into the piece on limericks, or the one about pi.  Easy; just put it in both:

It’s a favourite hobby of mine
a new value for pi to assign
I would fix it at three
because it’s easier, you see
than three point one four one five nine
 (3.14159)

.

2 responses

  1. Please tell me where I can take a look at your Hopscotch zine that you mentioned on Iva Sallay’s Find the Factor site!

    1. Paula: Hopscotch hasn’t got a great deal in common with established1962.wordpress.com but you’re welcome – just email me at alanparr”AT”dial.pipex.com (“AT” = @)

Leave a Reply

